Open Space I 

A blog inspired by the #LDInsight chat on Friday 12th August, hosted by the @LnDConnect Twitter account at 8am to 9am… which I’m still thinking about.

Every week there is a different question or statement intended to evoke exploration within Learning and Organisational Development. This week the question was ‘What is your experience of working with people with disabilities in relation to their learning?’

More often than not with the #LDInsight chat question, I have an initial response. Sometimes answering the question in one sentence, and feeling ‘I’m done’ … ‘Answered it’. Sometime I tweet the immediate response, and sometimes I pause and think about it some more. The former approach is my favourite, because it usually means I jump into an hour of open space learning with lots of fansinating people who challenge my thoughts and nudge me (just by there contributions and presence) to explore my intial response and many other seemingly tangential but surprisingly valuable conversations that stem from the main question, lending insight and knowledge, and fuelling curiosity for more! It’s filling and my thinking feels honoured – it has a space, no one is interrupting it.

I’m still thinking about learning disabilities. Understanding my ignorance. Accepting how I’ve experience unwanted emotions in different situations …that were hard to accept and not self-judge. The latter making the physiological reactions even harder to sooth.

There’s a storify but I wanted to share some key insights that I’m still pondering:

  • It occurs to me that Twitter can make me feel disabled
  • Above all be respectful. There’s plenty of information on the internet but that’s no substitute for asking
  • Seek to understand, research, accommodate, don’t underestimate the emotional aspects, don’t ever discount
  • There’s more to hear than just sound

And then this about the Twitter chat:

  • If this isn’t a safe enough space then find or ask (or ask) for a space that is safe enough for you. Discussion is important.

The chat was particularly quiet, and I wonder if that’s because of summer hols, or the topic.
With credit owed to @DavidMcAra @BrunhamLandD @niallgavinuk @ChangeContinumm @ProjectLibero

Leave a Reply

